Together Apart

Saturday, March 26, 2016 – Sue and Rhonda each have a race not together but still united for 20 for #20.

Sue’s recap:

When that alarm went off at 2:45 am March 26 and I heard the gentle pitter patter of rain on the roof, it would have been so easy to just roll over and go back to sleep.  But that was not an option.  I was scheduled to run for Tim that morning; and run I would.  By 4:40, I was in the car starting the two hour drive to Run Skidaway .

Despite thunder and lightning threatening to delay or cancel the race, the rain stopped long enough for an on-time start.  This is my second year running this race and I love the course that meanders through Skidaway Island, GA.  The race staff, course support, and island residents are supurb.

Did it rain?  Oh heck yes!  Did I care?  Oh heck NO!  I enjoyed every single minute of running my third race of my 20 for #20 endeavor knowing there are so many others who would give almost anything for the opportunity.

Wet (1)

Rhonda’s recap:

I ran the IRecylce HM in Spartanburg, SC. http://www.go-greenevents.com/event/id/4677 It was a beautiful day – I actually wore shorts and a tank top.  The weather was perfect but that course!  WOW – Holy Bat Hills!  It was unbelievably hilly and I gave it my all because all I kept thinking about were all of those people who would love to be out there.  It worked – it powered me through.  I found out the next day that I actually placed 3rd in my age group!  Complete shock!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

