Solo in Springfield

On April 2,  I was in Springfield, IL to run the Lincoln Presidential Half Marathon (http://runabe.srrc.net/).  I was having my own set of struggles that morning as the weather was definitely not up my alley.  A cool 28 degrees and the wind was blowing 18 mph with it increasing throughout the race to 25 mph.  I truly wanted to stay in my nice warm vehicle and just pretend I had ran it.  But, I knew that in reality there is no pretending – you either do it or you don’t.  Don’t wasn’t an option – not with knowing the main reason I was running.  Those with ALS don’t get to wake up and say “I don’t feel like having this disease today” and I knew that I would regret not running when I was completely able to.  And so I did – I actually had my best race time in over 2 years!  I was very pleased.  Maybe it was the high five I got to give President Lincoln and his wife Mary as I ran by their home that gave me the extra boost of luck.  I will never know.  After the race, while trying to find my husband, (somehow we always forget to set up a rendezvous point) I saw a fellow Half Fanatic (Stacia) and asked to borrow her phone.  We began talking and I told her why I was running in Springfield and she proceeds to tell me that her Dad died from ALS.  I was in disbelief.  For Sue and I to meet someone who dealt with ALS first hand as a caregiver on our first run for the cause and now this 2 weeks later, I just couldn’t believe it.  I had goosebumps and could not wait to tell Sue.  Meeting Stacia and hearing her life story of losing her father to ALS was the perfect reminder of why I don’t give in to the fleeting thoughts of not running.

Leave a Reply

