July Double in the Northeast

Another double weekend in the books for ALS awareness!  I, Rhonda, ran in the Old Port Half in Portland, Maine on July 9th.  What an amazing city!  I completely fell in love with Portland.  The people, the food, the sights – I truly loved it here and will definitely be back for a longer visit.  My family and I made the most out of our 36 hours though.  We walked the streets of Portland, visited a few breweries , took a boat tour of the islands, ate a delicious lobster roll and even saw a life-sized chocolate moose.  The half marathon went very well.  The weather was in the upper 50’s at the start.  Since I had walked most of the course the day before I felt very comfortable running it.  There were a couple of decent sized hills but I maintained a great pace the entire race and was very close to a new PR!  After the race I headed back to the hotel to shower and hit the road to Vermont.

We stopped at King Arthur Flour on our way to Waitsfield, VT for the Mad Half pick up.  I didn’t make it in time for the 100 Half Marathons Club reunion but I knew I would get to see everyone in the morning.  I got a good night of sleep and then the next morning I headed to the race.  Clouds were looming and rain was threatening.  I met up with a friend, Andrea, and the other 100 Half Marathons Club members that were in attendance.  It was great to meet so many! And the goodie bag for the members was amazing!   I went into this race knowing that I was going to take it easy, take lots of pictures as the countryside is gorgeous and that it would be super hilly/challenging.  It was a fun time and the weather held off until mile 12.5 for me when the skies went ahead and opened up.  I ran it in and got my medal along with an apple cider donut and some yummy apple cider from Cold Hollow Cider Mill

My family and I spent the rest of the day touring the area – Ben & Jerry’s, Lake Champlain Chocolates, Cabot Cheese, and Smuggler’s Notch Distillery as some of the highlights.  Looking back it seems we ate and drank our way through the Northeast! 

The next morning we heading to Montreal for a day and then made our way back home.  2 more races completed to tell people about ALS and raising awareness to this disease.   Next up I am running the Alien 13.1 in Roswell, GA. 

Leave a Reply

