Planes, Trains and Automobiles

After running 2 days of the Appalachian Series (Wed and Thur) with Sue, I then flew to Minneapolis on Friday, Oct 14 to start my weekend …..literally – planes, trains and automobiles. 

I arrived in Minneapolis mid-morning which gave me plenty of time to get my rental car and find my way around.  The race and packet pick up were actually located outside of Minneapolis in Long Lake, MN.  I plotted my path and it was much closer than I anticipated so I found a quick bite to eat, went and got some water for the night and then walked around the mall for a bit.  Packet pick up was in the same place as the race start at the Gear West store.  I got my packet and the best race shirt ever!  I love it!  Made my way back to the hotel and got all checked in.  I then decided to venture out and pick up a personal sized pizza for dinner.  While out I realized there was a cupcake store not far from the pizza place so thought why not?  Well, that is when my excitement really started.  I parked the rental car, grabbed the keys, my purse and my phone.  When I closed the door I locked the car and put the keys and my phone in my purse.  I went in and paid cash for the cupcake and walked back to my car.  The area wasn’t busy at all.  Once I was back in the car I went to pull out my phone to use the GPS feature to get back to the hotel……only to find that my phone wasn’t in my purse!  Trying to not panic as my driver’s license, debit card and credit card were in the phone case as well, I took a deep breath and dumped the purse out.  I put everything back in one item at a time – nope not there.  I then got out of the car and moved the seats to check in and around and still no phone!  Shaking a little, I closed the car up and slowly walked back to the store looking everywhere as I did so.  Still no phone in sight.  Maybe I left it on the counter.  I checked and the clerk said sorry, no phone.  I thought well, maybe one of the few people walking by saw it and turned it in so I went into the cleaners and the Subway shop…..still no phone.  I am at a loss what to do.  Not knowing my way but figuring I could maneuver to the hotel and get ahold of my cell carrier, my husband and the card companies.  All the while saying some prayers and also trying to figure out how I am going to get a rental car in Des Moines the next day!  I still had my military ID in my purse so flying wouldn’t be a problem.  I got down on the ground and looked under the car.  You guessed it – no phone.  I slowly pulled the car through the parking space thinking maybe I just couldn’t see it.  Once through I got out and looked again.  The entire time my heart is pounding and I am fighting the dread.  No phone in the parking space.  I decided that I needed to get a move on before my card was maxed out in Minnesota and slowly creeped through the parking lot desperately searching.  I decided to drive by one more time and this time pull in from the other direction and that is when something catches my eye.  I park and jump out and there on the inside of the tire of the car next to me is my phone!  I cannot believe it!  Had I not done the one last look it would have been ran over.  I was now saying prayers of thanks and heading back to my room.

Saturday morning came after a good night of sleep and I headed to Long Lake for the Gear Western Country Half Marathon.   It is a small race, which I love.  I planned it where I would only have to wait about 5 minutes and it was time to start.  The area is beautiful and by far the friendliest people I have ever encountered.  This was making my list of “hope to do again one day”!   The weather was perfect.  I couldn’t ask for a better day.  I was hoping to finish quickly as I needed to drive back to the hotel, shower, eat and head to the airport for my early afternoon flight to Des Moines, Iowa.  I finished faster than I anticipated, enjoyed the pancakes and sausages at the end and hit the road.  I found out a week later that one of my friends that lives in California was at the same race and we didn’t even realize it!! 

I made it to the airport with plenty of time, returned the rental car, took the train to the ticket counter and then on to Des Moines. 

Des Moines was much different than the beautiful place I had just left.  I got my rental car and headed to the hotel where I checked in and then walked to the expo.  I made it there quickly and then found my way to the starting area so I knew where to go in the morning.

I had a restless night and woke up definitely not feeling refreshed.  Headed out to the Des Moines Half Marathon and was hit by the 100% humidity and 60 degrees!  Crikey!  It was a good thing that I wasn’t in a rush today as I could tell this was going to be rough.  The race was much bigger than the day before and I really wasn’t feeling it but I knew that those with ALS have more moments than I do of not feeling like dealing with it so I started and ran my best but making sure I drank water at every station.  Both days I followed my normal Galloway 2:30/30 intervals.  I finished much quicker than I expected.  The course was rather boring in my opinion but then it could have just been my mental attitude. 

Once I finished I made my way back to the hotel where I showered and prepared to drive 2.5 hours to Nebraska to see my Grandmothers, some Aunts, Uncles and Cousins.  Whenever I am this close to my home state I try to pop in even if only for a couple days.  I spent Sunday afternoon and evening with my Mom’s side of the family and then on Monday I went to visit my Dad’s side.  Tuesday morning I flew back to SC so I could prepare for another double weekend. 

dm5

 

Leave a Reply

